Dartmoor Environmental Land Management Test & Trials

 

Dartmoor has been selected by Defra as one of the tests and trials sites, informing the development of England's new agri-environment scheme for farmers.

 

 From January 2020 until November 2021 we will be working with the Dartmoor farming community to answer four main questions as part of the test & trials research:

  1. How do we develop a land management plan which works for common land?

  2. What does a payment by results system which works for both 'home farms' and the commons look like?

  3. Is there a role for private finance within ELMs at a local level?

  4. What role can National Park Authorities play in shaping, facilitating and delivering ELMs?

 

The project will be overseen by a Project Board and an Advisory Tean. The Project Board will be made up of representatives from Dartmoor National Park Authority, Dartmoor Commoners Council, The Duchy of Cornwall and Natural England, independently Chaired by John Waldon.

 

The Advisory Team is comprised of volunteers from the Dartmoor farming community who will steer the content and output of the project.

As the project develops we will be sharing news and opportunities to contribute through this web page but also through the Dartmoor Hill Farm Project's newsletter, so please do sign up to receive regular updates.

 

Harriet Bell

Dartmoor Environmental Land Management Officer

Email: hbell@dartmoor.gov.uk

Dartmoor ELMs Advisory Team

The output of the Dartmoor Tests &Trials will be steered by a volunteer Advisory Team, who are happy to hear from you and represent your views during this process.

 

Lewis Steer: lewis@thedartmoorshepherd.co.uk

Ann Willcocks: annwillcocks@aol.com

Helen Radmore: H.radmore@farmline.com

Mat Cole: greenwellfarm@btconnect.com 

Nick Viney: nick.viney@me.com

 

Layland Banfield

 

Robert Jordan: robertjordan756@btinternet.com

 

Tracy May: theresa.may@btinternet.com

Christine Malseed: christine@frenchbeerfarm.co.uk

Charlotte Faulkner

charlotte@dartmoorhillpony.com

This page only displays our most recent blogs, a full list of all the Dartmoor ELMs outputs to date is available through our blog archive

Heritage Fund Logo

© Dartmoor Hill Farm Project. 

Duchy of Cornwall Logo
Princes Countryside Fund Logo
Dartmoor National Park Authority Logo
Group of people on a hillside